TO ME IT IS WRONG BUT NOT TO THEM

“It has been going on ever since and nobody said anything about it”……

It seems like there is a trend set from within my institution that lecturers have an affairs with their student, however it is not being disclose to the rest of the institution or friends and colleagues of their affairs and relationship only once that the student have graduated. Now my question is, that means there is no code ethics towards these things, then my next question would be, so does that mean doctors and patience can have an affair?- because we know that there is a strong code of ethics for doctors and patience.


I found out and counted that at least 6-10 of my colleagues(that i know off) got married to students, but the relationship is not being disclosed until they finishes their studies.And it seems like a trend for lecturers to be doing this. Please do not get me wrong, I am happy for their marriage however, my question now is specifically on work ethics and professionalism.
And just to top it up, if i bring this to the head of program- we”ll he got married to a student, then I decided to discuss this with the top management, well then again he did the same as well, then I was thinking what if i brought this matter to the vice chancellor or minister- what if they do the same thing as well……how long is this going to go on in Malaysia.

I remember when I was a student there was a case I saw in front of my eyes when my own lecturer were having an affair with a senior, they were exchanging gifts and giving looks towards each other, then they got married. But when I saw this in front of my eyes, I lost respect towards my lecturer, but then again I was a student back then, it was my two cents opinion.

Now today, I started working here in this institution for almost 12 years now, and I witnessed a colleague of mine, while we were team teach together in a class, he had an affair with one of the student, but we only found out once she has graduated- but my question would be then- ‘what were you doing while I ask you to teach and you end up having an affair’, and yet the student among them were talking about it up till today.

So here I am thinking maybe the policy in Malaysia is not clear enough on the Code of Ethic in education. And it should be reviewed and distribute and reminded on this matter.

I do hope that the Minister of Education could take a look at this matter and create a strong policy so that the lecturer and student are aware of their boundaries and professionalism.

I rest my case.


2 thoughts on “TO ME IT IS WRONG BUT NOT TO THEM

  1. I was suggested this website through my cousin. I am now not certain whether this post is written by
    means of him as no one else understand such distinct about my difficulty.
    You are wonderful! Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment